amaze myself

The past few years I have decided to not make new year resolutions. I have never kept one. Not a single one. Every year I write something either way too hard or something so vague, like “be patient.” Not saying that I don’t need to be patient, I really do, but that always dies so quickly. That resolution usually goes down the drain around 12:13am January 1 every year because I want to leave wherever I am and go to bed. But hey, those 13 minutes are ALWAYS great. 

But this year is different. Not only do I love even years (they’ve always treated me well), but I also love/hate where I am in life right now. I hate that I am not where I want to be. I hate that I struggle with my weight and can’t commit to a healthy lifestyle. I hate my “pooch” that rolls over my jeans and my butt that has taken over my lower body. I hate that discipline feels more like depravation and I rely on physical things to make me happy. 

And yet, I LOVE where I am. I love that I am at a crossroad in my life. I am at a place where I can really amaze myself if i want to and I REALLY want to.

my 2014 resolution: amaze myself.

This is how I am going to amaze myself: run a 10k by april and possibly a half-marathon in the fall, stick with a healthy diet and lose some of the weight that makes me clothes feel too tight. read some good books. travel. Spend more time with the Lord. Be more gracious with my actions and my words.

Its rare that we can look back at our year and think “wow! I was awesome! I can’t believe I did that!” I want this year to be MY year. Last year sucked. I am not repeating that year for many reasons. 2014 is gonna be a good one folks. I am really excited because I really think I can do this! I am using this blog as a way to keep myself motivated.

So, Heres to 2014 & kicking some ass. 

Leave a Reply

